On February 22, Canada and Uruguay joined the digital-government collective D5  (now to be renamed D7).

What is D7 (previously called D5)?

It’s a network of world-leading digital nations that was established in 2014 in London by the following founding members: New Zealand (who leads the workgroup), UK, South Korea, Estonia and Israel.

Together, member nations share best practices, collaborate on common projects and champion their respective digital economies.

They have also pledged to focus on:

  • user needs,
  • open source,
  • open markets,
  • open government,
  • connectivity,
  • teaching children to code,
  • assisted digital, and
  • commitment to share/learn.

Did you know?

Canada will co-chair the Open Government Partnership in 2018-2019.